Barbecue salmon and vegetables

IMG_1480.JPG

On summer weekends, I love to cook dinner on our little Weber on the balcony. It means I’m out in the sun and the fresh air, there’s almost no washing up afterwards, and it just feels special (or at least novel). And of course, that char-grilled flavour everything gets can’t be beaten. This is something I love to make when I’m not sure I’ve been getting enough greens lately, and want to make sure I’m eating something healthy.

The first time I made this, I’d bought some zucchini and asparagus, and then added the spring onions from the bottom of the vegetable crisper. I’d never barbecued spring onions before, but a former housemate had told me it was a Spanish specialty, so I was keen to try it. I served the whole lot on a bed of peppery rocket fresh from my garden, and drizzled with some lemon-flavoured olive oil.

The olive oil is added last, so you can vary how much goes on each plate (there’s really no such thing as ‘too much’ olive oil in this dish). If you want to increase the fat content further, top the vegetables with some feta. Yummy.

Ingredients

  • 2 150g salmon fillets, skin on.
  • 2 zucchini, cut in half lengthwise, and then into 5mm thick slices lengthwise
  • 1 bunch asparagus
  • 6 spring onions, outermost layer removed
  • 2 handfuls rocket
  • Good quality olive oil for drizzling
  • Juice of half a lemon
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Method

  1. Heat up a barbecue  until temperature inside the hood is over 150C.
  2. Spread the zucchini, asparagus and spring onions over the grill. Replace the cover and leave for 5 minutes.
  3. Flip the vegetables over and place the salmon on the grill skin-side down. Replace the cover and leave for three minutes.
  4. Flip the fish and leave for a further three minutes. If necessary, turn the vegetables again. After three minutes, remove everything from the heat.
  5. To serve, divide the rocket between two plates. Arrange the zucchini, asparagus and spring onions over the two plates and place the salmon on top. Season with salt, pepper and lemon. Drizzle with olive oil.

 

Leave a Reply

